Book Diary

Ever hear of a company called Victorian Trading Co.? Every December it sends me its paper catalog in hopes of enticing me back as a customer, and every December I thoroughly enjoy leafing through its offerings and wishing I could buy a lot. I never do, but the wishing is fun.

This year, I had to laugh when I turned a page and lo and behold, they have a book diary.

book-diary-pic

The catalogue description reads as follows:

“Includes sections for book lists, record of books read, books wanted and purchased, shared books, book group notes and comments, favorite titles to remember, significant passages, and address of book stores, libraries, and clubs. 144 p. Laminated hardbound gift book. 5 x 7” No. 9977          $14.95

http://www.victoriantradingco.com

Ph: 800-800-6647

Now, I’m not recommending that anyone purchase this particular diary. All you techies have probably already created a log on your computers. The rest of you may be happy with a $1 composition notebook or the luxury of a little Moleskin book. Whatever.

It’s just that once I focus on a particular topic, I seem to become magnetized and all sorts of  related material gravitates to me. It happens when I research for a book, and it’s happening now. I’m sure this means that I simply become more aware of items or details that I previously ignored.

Am I buying this book diary? Nope. I don’t like to be organized by someone else. But it’s a pretty notion, and I like the intention of it.

Another good source for this kind of thing–especially if you’re seeking a high-end gift for a writer or reader–is Levenger’s.

So browse, seek, fantasize, wish.

Meanwhile, I’m reading READY PLAYER ONE.

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Diary

  1. We’ll have to discuss Ready Player One once you’ve finished it. If you’re considering reading Cline’s next book (Armada), just read Ready Player One again and thank me later.

  2. “I don’t like to be organized by someone else.” Yes, exactly. I love the idea, but… no.

    • I bought a notebook with a pink, swirly cover and will fill it with whatever I please, even if it’s only a terse title and author.

      It’s not quite the same feeling of being under discipline as the numbered list, so I’ll have to see how long I stick with this intention. I’ve never been inclined to sustain diaries for any consistent length of time.

Leave a Reply

