Bragging Rights

A copy of my newest book was waiting on my doorstep this week when I came home from work.  There it lay on the mat in a mangled envelope that looked like it had been across the world and back.

Inside, a jewel of a hardcover edition, featuring some smashing cover art.  Of course, I’m as prejudiced as a new parent showing off her new baby, but don’t you think it looks handsome?

Publication date: April 1, 2011 from Marshall Cavendish

My new pseudonym is C. Aubrey Hall.  This book, Crystal Bones, will be out April 1 and launches a young adult trilogy called The Faelin Chronicles.

I just completed the manuscript for the second book at the end of January, which is why some of my blogs have been sporadic lately.  Now I’m set to start writing the third book.

But today, I had to share Book One with you.

Crystal Bones is about twins — a boy called Diello and his sister Cynthe — who are half-Fae and half-human.  They fit in nowhere except at home.  On their thirteenth birthday, their world is shattered by a ruthless goblin king determined to destroy them and everything they care about.  It’s all because of something secret their parents did long before they’re born.  They have to draw on their smarts, cleverness, and the scant magical abilities they possess in order to elude the goblins … and survive.

The story world I’ve created around Diello and Cynthe is based very loosely on a medieval Welsh foundation, with plenty of my own imagination and magical wonders thrown in.  Crystal bones refers to Diello’s ability to enhance and strengthen the magic of others in use near him.  That is, however, by no means all that he and Cynthe can do.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bragging Rights

  1. I’m so happy for you, dear friend! And happy for your readers, too. We readers deserve wonderful stories told as only you can.

  2. Thank you! I think it’s a pretty good little tale, and I hope most people will agree.

Leave a Reply

